Reblog: Animated Sieve of Eratosthenes


The Math Less Traveled has a lovely video here, animating the Sieve of Eratosthenes, one of the classic methods of finding all of the prime numbers one wants. I suppose it won’t eliminate writing out and crossing off numbers for extra credit on a math test. I actually remember that being one test I had in, I believe, seventh grade, for reasons that I don’t think I ever got. Possibly the teacher wanted to have an easy time grading, or was giving everyone a break from too much computation by shifting to evaluation of our crossing-out abilities.

The Math Less Traveled

Here’s something I made yesterday! (Note, I strongly suggest watching it fullscreen, in HD if you have the bandwidth for it.)

Can you figure out what’s going on? The source code for the animation is here; I was inspired by Jason Davies’ visualization which was in turn inspired by this.

View original post

Author: Joseph Nebus

I was born 198 years to the day after Johnny Appleseed. The differences between us do not end there.

4 thoughts on “Reblog: Animated Sieve of Eratosthenes”

    1. I’m sorry to be slow answering; I was occupied all weekend.

      The (semi-)circles have diameters of 2, 3, 5, 7, 11, and so on. Each one intersects the center line at multiples of their respective diameter. The numbers on the center line that don’t get a semicircle intersecting it after all the smaller loops have gotten past it are the prime numbers sifted out.

      Like

Please Write Something Good

