15,000 And A Half


I’d failed to mention the day it happened but I reached my 15,000th page view, just a couple days past the end of April. (If I haven’t added wrong, it was somebody who read something on the 5th of May.) So I like that my middling popularity is continuing, and, as I said in the review of April’s statistics, the blog-writing has felt particularly rich for me of late, for reasons I don’t consciously know. Meanwhile I’m already about a sixth of the way to 16,000, again, a gratifying touch. It’s horribly easy for a personality like mine to get worried about readership statistics; the flip side is when I’m not worried it feels so contented.

To cover the other half of my title, my dear love mentioned tripping over something in the tangent-plane article: “imagine the sphere sliced into a big and a small half by a plane. Imagine moving the plane in the direction of the smaller slice; this produces a smaller slice yet.” And how can there be a big and a small half?

Well, because I was sloppy in writing, is all. I should’ve said something like “a big and a small piece”. I failed to spend enough time editing and rereading before publishing. All I can say is this made me notice that apparently one can speak of two unequal halves of something without noticing that one is defying the literal meaning of the word. Maybe the ability to do so reflects an idea that a division of something might be equal in one way and unequal in others and the word “half” has to allow either sense. Maybe it just reflects that English is a supremely flexible language in that any word can mean pretty much anything, at any time, without any warning. Or I was just being sloppy.

Author: Joseph Nebus

I was born 198 years to the day after Johnny Appleseed. The differences between us do not end there.

6 thoughts on “15,000 And A Half”

  1. I have noticed weird traffic in my stats some weeks ago which I don’t consider “human viewers” but rather some bot or something not yet recognized by WordPress – all from US, only for homepage / archives and extremely regular … a view clicks per hour 24/7.
    So April most my most “successful” month ever but I believe it an artifact.

    Like

    1. Oh, I didn’t think of new bots coming into play. Hm. Well, there’ve been a couple days with unusually high peaks of activity, but I think the overall trend is good. At any rate I’m getting more and better comments, which is probably the real test of whether anyone’s out there.

      Like

Please Write Something Good

