Pi Day With A Friend


This is a touch self-indulgent, but: a friend from grad school, Dr Donna Dietz, appeared on one of the Washington, DC, morning news shows to talk about Pi Day, so please let me share that with you.

I’m afraid that WordPress doesn’t make it easy for me to embed the video, so you’ll need to go to the local TV news web site, and I apologize for that because local TV news web sites have a tendency to be local TV news web sites. I also can’t swear that the video will work for those outside the United States.

Author: Joseph Nebus

I was born 198 years to the day after Johnny Appleseed. The differences between us do not end there.

8 thoughts on “Pi Day With A Friend”

  1. Wow! I feel world famous now! I’m sure that more people have watched me because of my Facebook and email and friends sharing this than ever watched (or at least cared) when it was live on the air in DC that morning! I can’t imagine most people who are awake at 7:30am on Saturday morning in DC really care much about Pi Day.

    Like

    1. I was delighted seeing you speaking aloud, actually; I didn’t realize till the video how long it’s been since we actually talked.

      I’ve got trouble imagining anyone being up and about on purpose at 7:30 on a Saturday morning — even when cartoons were on, they were the stodgy and boring ones on before 8 am — but I can say that WordPress’s statistics say seventeen people looked at this page. I don’t know if that translates to watched the video, but it’s something, anyway. And apparently at least one of them was from Hong Kong, which is pretty near 180 degrees of longitude away from Washington, a pretty good approximation for worldwide.

      Like

Please Write Something Good

