The Alice in Wonderland Sesquicentennial


I did not realize it was the 150th anniversary of the publication of Alice in Wonderland, which is probably the best-liked piece of writing by any mathematician. At least it’s the only one I can think of that’s clearly inspired a Betty Boop cartoon. I’ve had cause to talk about Carroll’s writing about logic and some other topics in the past. (One was just a day short of three years ago, by chance.)

As mentioned in his tweet John Allen Paulos reviewed a book entirely about Lewis Carroll/Charles Dodgson’s mathematical and logic writing. I was unaware of the book before, but am interested now.

Author: Joseph Nebus

I was born 198 years to the day after Johnny Appleseed. The differences between us do not end there.

2 thoughts on “The Alice in Wonderland Sesquicentennial”

    1. Oh, that’s a neat coincidence. To the best of my knowledge nobody I was a major (or grad student) with has attained any fame in mathematics. Someone I was on the student newspaper with went has gotten a fairly prominent role in entertainment journalism, though.

      Like

Please Write Something Good

