How December 2015 Treated My Mathematics Blog


I had expected December 2015 would see a decline in my readership. I didn’t have the spillover effect of my humor blog getting so much Apartment 3-G curiosity. The readership did drop, although not quite alarmingly. So let’s review that.

According to WordPress’s statistics page there were 954 views of these parts in December. That’s well down from November’s 3-G boosted 1,215. But it’s up from the 733 in October and 708 in September, and it’s the fifth highest of the past year. The number of unique visitors dropped, from 519 down to 449. That’s also up from October’s 405 and September’s 381. And it’s the fourth-highest of the past twelve months. There were fifteen posts in the month again, although I admit not all of them were really deep pieces. Some were just nagging people to read other things I’d written.

The reader-engagement data was up a tiny bit. The mathematics blog got back up to 245 likes in December, up from November’s 220 and October’s 244. It’s nowhere near the peaks of June (518), but June was the midst of the Summer A To Z glossary and that drew a lot of steady readers in. I should do another one. The number of comments rose to 56, up from November’s 37 and October’s 47. Again, that’s nowhere near June and July’s highs (114 and 100). But again, I didn’t have anything themed nearly so tightly going on.

I think that I could have had slightly better readership, and engagement, if I hadn’t gotten overwhelmed the last third of the month. I just stopped being able to go pay calls on other blogs, and leave comments and likes and whatnot to other writers. So I couldn’t reasonably expect folks to stop in here either. The weekly count of views and visitors certainly drops around then. But then most of the rest of western civilization also had a busy time in late December. But the holidays have mostly wrapped up, and I should be back to normal social-Internet stuff soon. I’d like to think I’ll be, anyway.

The most popular stuff around here — well, most of the popular articles were Reading the Comics series articles. I’ll just lump those together into one category if that’s all right by you. But the most popular stuff would be:

The countries sending me the most readers were nearly the usual set: the United States with 641 pages views, the United Kingdom with 50, the Canada with 45, the Germany with 27, and the India with 21. That’s my best India showing on record, I believe. Singapore sent me five page views.

Single-reader countries this time were Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belgium, Czech Republic, the European Union, Indonesia, Ireland, Lithuania, Nigeria, and Taiwan. I still don’t understand what the European Union is doing listed there. But Belgium and Nigeria are on three-month streaks there. Nobody’s on a four-month streak.

And among the interesting search terms to come up:

  • peppermint patty couldn’t solve the following math problems (most of them, really)
  • snoring jokes (my love would tell you my snoring is not a joke; it’s enough to rattle this house apart)
  • why are wizard of id classics being reprinted (well, they’re pretty solidly funny)
  • comic strip math problem solving algebra rae (I don’t know what the ‘rae’ is and assume it’s a cry of delight)
  • origin is the gateway to your entire gaming universe. (I think they’re just trying to creep my out now)
  • 22 decmber mathematics day topics (I believe that’s India’s national mathematics day. I don’t think I have any particularly interesting content for it, but I should maybe work on that)

I start the month of January with 553 total WordPress followers. And I start with 31,253 total page views and 11,721 total unique visitors as WordPress figures these things.

