How May 2016 Treated My Mathematics Blog


The start of the Theorem Thursdays project did delay my monthly vanity post. That’s all right. I can be vain on a schedule. But I do like spending time mulling over the WordPress statistics around here and pondering their meaning.

My readership dropped in May as I expected. I posted only fifteen times in May, compared to daily in April and for that matter March. But my readership didn’t halve. It dropped back to about what it was before the Leap Day A To Z project, which I’m not sure how to read. It suggests folks around here were reasonably eager to see more stuff from me but that I maybe didn’t draw in so many new readers. Let me break things around:

Readership Numbers:

For simple page views: I fell short of the important-only-to-me threshold of a thousand page views. There were 981 views, down from 1,500 in April and 1,557 in March. Rated per posting — and I know some people were reading archive material rather than new posts — that’s not a bad trend, though. That’s about 65 page views per posting, compared to 50 in the busier months before.

There were, WordPress says, 627 unique visitors in May. That’s down from April’s 757 and March’s 734. But again per-posting … well, that’s nearly 42 per post in May, compared to 25 in April and 24 in March. I’d be interested in the posting schedule that gets the best readership per post, but it’s probably impossible to work that out.

The big measure of reader engagement, comments, looks catastrophic in May: only 22 comments, down from 55 in April and 84 in March. But that’s an illusion. I learned that linking to an old post using its full URL, which for me starts nebusresearch.wordpress.com, creates a backlink that WordPress regards as a comment. If I use a short URL, starting wp.me, that creates the backlink but it doesn’t count as a comment. So I was curious how many comments there were which weren’t self-made comments and apparently 22 it is. But I haven’t got any way of figuring out how that compares to previous months, not without doing a lot of boring counting.

But the number of likes were down too. There were 133 of them in May, down from 345 in April and 320 in March. Even per-post that’s a collapse. It averages just under 9 per posting, compare to 11 and a half in April and a bit over 10 in March.

Popular Posts:

The five most popular posts in May? The usual blend: me referring to other stuff, me reading comics, and trapezoids.

Listing Countries:

The countries sending me the greatest number of readers were the United States (564 page views), Canada (88), India (34), and Germany (33). That’s all about in order. Single-reader countries — and I’ll put this in a bullet list because I read that people like those — were:

  • Argentina
  • Burkina Faso
  • Chile
  • China (**)
  • Colombia
  • Czech Republic
  • European Union (*****)
  • Hungary (*)
  • Indonesia
  • Malta
  • Nepal
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Portugal
  • Senegal
  • Serbia (*)
  • Slovakia
  • South Korea (*)
  • Thailand
  • Turkey
  • Uganda

Hungary, Serbia, and South Korea were single-reader countries last month. China’s been a single-reader country the last two months. The European Union is in its sixth straight month as a single-reader country despite the fact that, you know, not a country. Whoever’s doing this is trying to provoke some weird reaction from me.

Counting Readers:

June started with my little blog here at 37,238 page views from an alleged 14,900 unique viewers. There’s reportedly 586 WordPress followers, up from 579 at the start of May and 573 at the start of April. And being a WordPress follower should be easier than it used to be, as I put a little blue “Follow On WordPress” button in the upper right corner of the page. It’s right above the “Follow Blog Via Email” card that I really want to rewrite as e-mail because I’m like that. There’s still apparently only eleven e-mail followers but, well, hi, gang.

WordPress’s “Insight” tab on the statics viewer says my most popular reading day is Wednesday, with 17 percent of page views. I don’t think I’ve posted anything on a Wednesday all May. But since Wednesdays are fourteen percent of the week I suppose that’s just a meaningless bit of static. It also says my most popular hour is 3:00 pm, which gets 17 percent of page views. Yes, I’m suspicious about that seventeen turning up again. But I haven’t got any reason to think that’s meaningless either, what with the hour from 3 to 4 pm not being 17 percent of the day. I have no idea if this is 3 pm my time, or Universal Time, or whatever time zone WordPress Master Command’s server is in. I’d appreciate some clarification on this point.

Search Terms:

Stuff WordPress admits brought people to me? Not so much interesting stuff, but, what the heck. Here’s some:

  • jumble comic before
  • origin is the gateway to your entire gaming universe.
  • historical comic stories
  • disney comic strips
  • tiger bud blake
  • nebus test medical
  • https://nebusresearch.wordpress.com/
  • wet cement comic

At least I can feel pretty confident that https://nebusresearch.wordpress.com/ search found the right place.

Author: Joseph Nebus

I was born 198 years to the day after Johnny Appleseed. The differences between us do not end there.

Please Write Something Good

