How March 2017 Treated My Mathematics Blog


It’s a good time for my occasional review of how blogging here is going. And it turns out from WordPress’s statistics that apparently I don’t need to blog anymore for things to turn out all right. But March ended up a slow and outright lazy month for me, with only twelve posts (one of them the monthly statistics report) and I feared what would happen to my readership numbers.

Turns out, nothing. There were 1,026 page views in March from 699 unique visitors. In February there’d been 1,063 views from 680 unique visitors, and in January some 1,031 page views from 586 unique visitors. That’s reassuring, especially as I work out when I’m going to have the energy for a new A to Z sequence.

Oh, reader engagement might have dropped, since most of what I wrote was Reading the Comics posts and they’re pretty closed topics. I can’t think of a way to turn “here’s one where the student misinterprets the word problem” into something debatable. Maybe “here’s one where the student does not misinterpret the word problem”, since posting an error is the surest way to get a correction. There were only 15 comments in March, down from February’s 18 and way down from January’s 34. Maybe I need to do a blog potluck or something to encourage chatter. I was slightly more liked, though. There were 85 likes clicked around here in March. This is technically different from February’s 77 and January’s 97.

Three of the month’s top five articles were ones I would have expected. One is becoming a perennial. The remarkable thing to me is none of my March Madness themed pieces was a top-five. Maybe everyone was too angry about their brackets collapsing the first day. But popular were:

Among the popular search terms this month were:

  • isosceles trapezoid pretty
  • what are the priorities of teen agers 20 years ago and in the present? venn diagram
  • origin is the gateway to your entire gaming universe
  • how many grooves on a vinyl record
  • teetotallers might get a laugh out of this jumble
  • cartoon spank bot 3000
  • comics about law of conservation

Yeah, I’m not putting some of those terms into Google. I’m scared enough after I searched on a technical issue and got the note that there were some more results I could see if I turned Safe Search off. I don’t know what might be in there but I don’t need to see that.

Here’s the roster of countries and page views:

Country Views
United States 661
Canada 42
India 37
Philippines 31
United Kingdom 30
Australia 27
Germany 19
Singapore 18
Turkey 13
Sweden 13
South Africa 12
Austria 8
Brazil 8
Netherlands 8
Puerto Rico 8
Spain 7
France 6
Belgium 5
Italy 5
Mexico 5
Oman 5
South Korea 4
Portugal 3
Argentina 2
Hungary 2
Indonesia 2
Iraq 2
New Zealand 2
Norway 2
Uruguay 2
Algeria 1 (*)
Bulgaria 1
Chile 1
Colombia 1
Czech Republic 1
Denmark 1
Finland 1
Georgia 1
Greece 1
Hong Kong SAR China 1
Ireland 1 (*)
Jamaica 1
Malaysia 1
Malta 1
Pakistan 1
Peru 1
Romania 1 (*)
Saudi Arabia 1 (*)
Serbia 1
Slovakia 1
Slovenia 1
Switzerland 1
Taiwan 1 (*)
Thailand 1
Trinidad and Tobago 1
Vietnam 1 (*)

I make that out to be 56 separate countries, not counting the “European Union” since that mystery wasn’t there. That’s down from February’s 64 and about back to January’s 53. There were, I estimate, 26 single-reader countries, up from February’s 22 and January’s 13. Algeria, Ireland, Romania, Saudi Arabia, Taiwan, and Vietnam were all single-reader countries in February. Nobody’s on a three-month streak.

The month started with 47,224 recorded visits from a stated 20,854 distinct readers. Insights tells me the most popular hour was 6 pm, as expected. It’s when stuff is normally posted. 12 percent of views came that hour, up from 11 percent in February and 10 percent in March. Tuesday was the most popular day, with 18 percent of views. In February it was Monday, with 16 percent, and in January it was Thursdays again with 16 percent. This is all so close to one-seventh that I figure there’s no real difference in readership per day.

WordPress thinks I started the month with 650 followers on the site, up from 642 at the start of February. You can be one of those WordPress viewers by using the ‘Follow On WordPress’ button that’s in the upper-right corner as I see the page. Or you can follow by e-mail. There’s other people who do that. You won’t be totally weird if you do. And again, I am on Twitter, as @nebusj, so perhaps you’d like the experience of me in fewer characters. I understand.

Author: Joseph Nebus

I was born 198 years to the day after Johnny Appleseed. The differences between us do not end there.

Please Write Something Good

