January 2014’s Statistics


So how does the first month of 2014 compare to the last month of 2013, in terms of popularity? The raw numbers are looking up: I went from 176 unique visitors looking at 352 pages in December up to 283 unique visitors looking at 498 pages. If WordPress’s statistics are to be believed that’s my greatest number of page views since June of 2013, and the greatest number of visitors since February. This hurt the ratio of views per visitor a little, which dropped from 2.00 to 1.76, but we can’t have everything unless I write stuff that lots of people want to read and they figure they want to read a lot more based on that, which is just crazy talk. The most popular articles, though, were:

  1. Something Neat About Triangles, this delightful thing about forming an equilateral triangle starting from any old triangle.
  2. How Many Trapezoids I Can Draw, with my best guess for how many different kinds of trapezoids there are (and despite its popularity I haven’t seen a kind not listed here, which surprises me).
  3. Factor Finding, linking over to IvaSallay’s quite interesting blog with a great recreational mathematics puzzle (or educational puzzle, depending on how you came into it) that drove me and a friend crazy with this week’s puzzles.
  4. What’s The Worst Way To Pack? in which I go looking for the least-efficient packing of spheres and show off these neat Mystery Science Theater 3000 foam balls I got.
  5. Reading The Comics, December 29, 2013, the old year’s last bunch of mathematics-themed comic strips.

The countries sending me readers the most often were the United States (281), Canada (52), the United Kingdom (25), and Austria (23). Sending me just a single reader each this past month were a pretty good list:
Bulgaria, France, Greece, Israel, Morocco, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, and Viet Nam. Returning on that list from last month are Norway, Romania, Spain, and Viet Nam, and none of those were single-country viewers back in November 2013.

Author: Joseph Nebus

I was born 198 years to the day after Johnny Appleseed. The differences between us do not end there. He/him.

2 thoughts on “January 2014’s Statistics”

    1. Aw, thank you so. I’m flattered.

      I don’t believe I get enough star ratings on my articles to make those ratings worth mentioning; I think I’d need at least, like, a dozen or so before anything resembling statistical significance could be discerned and unfortunately right now I get one or two ratings at all.

      There was a bit on my humor blog when someone was going around giving me two- and three-star ratings on everything but that seems to have passed. As mentioned there, I don’t know who would follow something to make sure he registered mild awareness of the existence of that thing for weeks, but based on the modus operandi I have to suspect everybody on the entire Internet, including the kitchen appliances.

      Like

Please Write Something Good

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.