I’m Looking For Some More Topics For My 2018 Mathematics A-To-Z


As I’d said about a month ago, I’m hoping to panel topics for this year’s A-To-Z in a more piecemeal manner. Mostly this is so I don’t lose track of requests. I’m hoping not to go more than about three weeks between when a topic gets brought up and when I actually commit words to page.

But please, if you have any mathematical topics with a name that starts G through M, let me know! I generally take topics on a first-come, first-serve basis for each letter. But I reserve the right to use a not-first-pick choice if I realize the topic’s enchanted me. Also to use a synonym or an alternate phrasing if both topics for a particular letter interest me. Also when you do make a request, please feel free to mention your blog, Twitter feed, Mathstodon account, or any other project of yours that readers might find interesting. I’m happy to throw in a mention as I get to the word of the day.


So! I’m open for nominations. Here are the words I’ve used in past A to Z sequences, for reference. I probably don’t want to revisit them, but if someone’s interested, I’ll at least think over whether I have new opinions about them. Thank you.

Excerpted From The Summer 2015 A To Z


Excerpted From The Leap Day 2016 A To Z


Excerpted From The Summer 2015 A To Z


Excerpted From The Summer 2017 A To Z

And there we go! … To avoid confusion I’ll mark off here when I have taken a letter.

Available Letters for the Fall 2018 A To Z:

  • G
  • H
  • I
  • J
  • K
  • L
  • M

And all the Fall 2018 Mathematics A-To-Z should appear at this link, along with some extra stuff like these topic-request pages and such.

Author: Joseph Nebus

I was born 198 years to the day after Johnny Appleseed. The differences between us do not end there. He/him.

13 thoughts on “I’m Looking For Some More Topics For My 2018 Mathematics A-To-Z”

  1. g: googol
    h: Hilbert Transform
    i: Inifinite Monkey Theorem
    j: Johnson’s Theorem (Roger Arther Johnson)
    k: Kepler
    l: logarithm
    m: Mobius or Magic Square or Menger Sponge

    Like

Please Write Something Good

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.